TOWN OF ST. GERMAIN

OFFICE OF THE CLERK P.O. BOX 7 ST. GERMAIN, WISCONSIN 54558

www.townofstgermain.org

MINUTES SPECIAL TOWN BOARD MEETING: **APRIL 18, 2017**

- 1. Call to Order: Chairman Tom Christensen called the meeting to order at 8:40 P.M.
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Swearing in of Board Members, Clerk & Treasurer: Supervisor Ted Ritter gave the oath of office to newly elected Town Chairman Tom Christensen, Supervisor #3 Doug Olson, Supervisor #4 Jim Swenson, Town Treasurer Marion Janssen, and Town Clerk Tom Martens.
- 4. Roll Call, Establish a Quorum: Tom Christensen, John Vojta, Ted Ritter, Jim Swenson, Doug Olson, Marion Janssen, Town Treasurer, Tom Martens, town Clerk. There were also 20 other people in attendance.
- 5. Open Meeting Verification: Mr. Christensen noted that he had posted the meeting agenda at three locations in town on April 17, 2017 prior to 4:00 P.M.
- 6. Approval of the Agenda: Motion Vojta seconded A\Swenson that the agenda be approved in any order at the discretion of the chairman. By a voice vote Yes -5, No -0. Motion carried.

7. Discussion Action Items

- a. Appointment of the Zoning Committee: Motion Christensen seconded Ritter that Ted Ritter be appointed Chairman and that his term expires in 2019; Jim Swenson be appointed a member and that his term expires in 2018; Marion Janssen be appointed a member and that her term expires in 2019; Jerry Hensen be appointed a member and that his term expires in 2018 and Brian Cooper be appointed a member and that his term expires in 2020 to the zoning committee. By a voice vote Yes -5, No -0. Motion carried.
- b. Appointment of the Public Works Committee: Motion Christensen that John Vojta is appointed chairman; Doug Olson and Doug Olejniczak be appointed as members of the public works committee. Mr. Vojta said that he would not serve on the committee unless there were four or five members. With only three members, Mr. Vojta and Mr. Olson could not even talk over coffee without being a quorum. Mr. Christensen added public works foreman Tim Ebert to the committee. Mr. Ritter questioned whether or not a town employee could be a voting member of a committee. Mr. Christensen withdrew his motion and will check with the Wisconsin Towns Association.
- c. Appointment of the Golf Course Committee: There was no action. Both the golf course committee and public works committee appointments will be added to the next town board meeting agenda.
- d. Appointment of the Lakes Committee Chair and Vice-Chair: Motion Christensen seconded Swenson that Ted Ritter be appointed chairman of the lakes committee and that a vice-chairman not be appointed at this time. By a voice vote Yes - 5, No - 0. Motion carried.
- e. Appointment of the Non-Motorized Trail Committee: Motion Christensen seconded Vojta that Anne Small be appointed chairman and that Bob Schell, Jim Swenson, Jimmy Vogel, Becky Dunn, Marion Janssen, Mary Platner and Penny McCormick be appointed member of the non-motorized trail committee. By a voice vote Yes - 5, No - 0. Motion carried.
- f. Appointment of the Town Animal Control Officer: Motion Christensen seconded Ritter that Don Baumann be appointed animal control officer. By a voice vote Yes -5, No -0. Motion carried.
- g. Approval of Bike and ATV/UTV Trails on the 50' Property between Half Mile Road and the **Community Area by the Town Shop:** It was decided at the Annual Elector Meeting that the town board would walk the 50 ft. strip to see the location of the proposed bike & hike trail and proposed ATV/UTV trail. The town board will meet at the skateboard park on Friday, April 28, 2017 at 7:00 A.M. to walk the property.
- 8. Items to be posted on the Town's Web Site: Mr. Ritter will decide what should be added to the town's website.

	Town Clerk		
Chairman	Supervisor	Supervisor	
Supervisor	Supervisor		